AUSTRALIAN AIRLINES GOLF CLUB

RIF-RAF's Monthly Newsletter

Head Rep: Paul Vanschaik, 0417-414-264, E-Mail: pbvans@tpg.com.au

Issue 5 - Volume 10

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Thanks to the Rob's

Arnold - for allowing the club to have their BBQ at his Factory, Very much appreciated, and Griek - for organising the food.

Tee off time at Rosebud CC

Tee off time has changed. Arrive at 0745 for a 0800 tee off - Sharp

Golf Trip

Only 7 Vacancies left for the Yarrawonga Golf Trip, so get your name to John Leenarts if you still want to go (27 - 29 Aug 10)

ROUND 4 RESULTS – WATERFORD VALLEY 18 APR 10

32 Players turned up 31 Members and 1 Guest

First: Steve Waite (41 Points)

Steve's AAGC Career History*:

It's been 18 months since the ICE MAN had his last victory, but he's always make a regular appearance on the summary sheet, especially with the number of Longest Drives he has.

This was certainly an emphatic win where the next nearest was 8 shots away and is also a club record, previously the highest winning margin was 7.

Steve's Trophy Cabinet:

 5×1^{st} , 3×2^{nd} ; 3×3^{rd} ; $2 \times NAGA$; $8 \times NTP$'s; $8 \times D$ 'n'C's; and $10 \times Longest$ Drives;

Steve's career prize money totals: \$420.00.

Steve's Claims to Fame:

Club record holder for the most Number of Longest Drives (10) Club record holder for the Greatest Winning Margin (8)

Second: Rob Uwland (33 Points); *Countback*

Third: Peter Menz (33 Points); **NAGA:** Mark Jordan (15 Points).

Nearest to Pin

5th Hole: John Uwland 17th Hole: Tony Sawyer

Drive 'n' Chip

15th Hole: Rob Uwland

Longest Drive

5th Hole: Richie Lakey

Raffle: \$125.00 (Raffle Masters – Andrew & Mark Jordan)

Eagles Nest Tally this Month: 9 (No Eagles in Round 4),

Last Eagle was by Graham 'Hitman' Harding in Jul 09 at Moonah Links, where he won 14 Golf Balls)

Fines: \$173.80 (Fines Master – Sir Bob)

Special 'WHAT THE' for the following:

- How to get yourself fined, Lesson 1: After a hard round, DOS wanders into the BBQ area and sees everyone standing around and then sees a nice, soft cushioned chair for him to sit at, which he does.....Only Sir Bob (OBE and Fines-master) has gotten up to get a snag....Let this be a lesson in how to get yourself fined
- Pat Edwards Spied by other members walking through long grass with his golf bag held over his head (apparently a walk through the long grass turned into a walk through a Swamp)
- Laurie Walker Rolled up to the BBQ with his own PIE.
- Sir Bob Didn't fine the 'Ice Man' for using his phone?????

ROUND 4 MATCHPLAY RESULTS

^{*} Historical records since 2001

We're not even half way through the Tour Card and both Steve Waite and Rob Uwland have already started to sprint for the finish line leaving all but DOS in their wake. DOS was seen finishing the last round panting and out of breath...keeping up to them is going to be difficult..Even if a Zimbabwean could win, which he can't (one of the fine print rules----sorry).

Arthur Morihovitis	9	Def	Paul Vanschaik	7
Brendan Drew	8	Def	Graham Harding	7
Rob Griek	10	Def	Bob Mitchell	5
Rob Uwland	9	Def	John Uwland	6
Tony Sawyer	6	Drew	Craig Menas	6
Steve Waite	8	Def	Rob Arnold	4
Peter Menz	10	Def	Ian Mitchell	5
Richie Lakey	8	Def	Patrick Edwards	6
Laurie Walker	10	Def	Michael Weekes	6
Joe dos Santos	9	Def	John Caffyn	5
Andew Jordan	12	Def	Mark Jordan	3
Rick Waterman	9	Def	Brent Proctor	6
John Franklin	8	Def	John Leenarts	5
Kel Linehan	8	Def	Allan McLean	7
Alf Hodges	9	Def	Vince Digrazia	5
Vince Digrazia	6	Drew	Ross Morfea	6
Ross Morfea	4	Lost	Alf Hodges	9

2010 MATCHPLAY LADDER

Name	P	\mathbf{W}	D	For	$\mathbf{A}\mathbf{g}$	%	Pts
Steve Waite	4	4		41	13	315.4%	32
Rob Uwland	4	4		34	21	161.9%	32
Joe dos Santos	4	3		36	19	189.5%	26
Andrew Jordan	3	3		27	14	192.9%	24
Laurie Walker	3	3		27	14	192.9%	24
Ian Mitchell	3	2		24	18	133.3%	18
Bob Mitchell (Sir)	3	2		26	20	130.0%	18
Rob Griek	3	2		24	19	126.3%	18
John Uwland	3	2		21	17	123.5%	18
Tony Sawyer	4	1	1	22	28	78.6%	17
Rick Waterman	2	2		21	8	262.5%	16
Mick Conroy	2	2		18	11	163.6%	16
Arthur Morihovitis	2	2		18	12	150.0%	16
Craig Menes	3	1	1	17	22	77.3%	15
John Leenarts (Sir)	4	1		23	33	69.7%	14
Mark Jordan	4	1		20	38	52.6%	14
Allan McLean	3	1		24	19	126.3%	12
Patrick Edwards	3	1		20	21	95.2%	12
Brendan Drew	3	1		19	24	79.2%	12

Ross Morfea	3	1		18	23	78.3%	12
Rob Arnold	2	1		13	12	108.3%	10
Peter Menz	2	1		14	13	107.7%	10
John Franklin	2	1		12	14	85.7%	10
Richie Lakey	2	1		12	15	80.0%	10
Alf Hodges (Sir)	2	1		13	17	76.5%	10
Vince Digrazia	3		1	17	27	63.0%	9
Kel Linehan	1	1		8	7	114.3%	8
Graham Harding	4			15	34	44.1%	8
Paul Vanschaik	3			16	28	57.1%	6
Steve Williams	2			11	16	68.8%	4
Brent Proctor	2			7	23	30.4%	4
Michael Weekes	1			6	10	60.0%	2
John Caffyn	1			5	9	55.6%	2
Lou Drake	1			5	9	55.6%	2
Fred Hodges	1			4	8	50.0%	2
Shaun Williams	1			3	11	27.3%	2

NEXT ROUND Round 5 – ROSEBUD COUNTRY CLUB 23 MAY 10

Tee Off: 0745hrs for an 0800hrs tee off (SHARP)

Cost: \$40.00

Fines Master: SIR ALF

Current Champion

Reigning Rosebud Country Club Champion from 2009 is Peter Deveraux who won with 33 points

Previous Winners:

2008: Paul Tierney – 35 Pts 2007: David Cherny – 41 Pts 2006: Tony Sawyer – 38 Pts 2005: Adam Bently – 41 Pts 2004: Rob Arnold – 39 Pts

REGARDS Paul Vanschaik AAGC News Reporter.