AUSTRALIAN AIRLINES GOLF CLUB

RIF-RAF's **Monthly Newsletter**

Head Rep: Paul Vanschaik, 0417-414-264, E-Mail: pbvans@tpg.com.au

Issue 4 - Volume 10

ANNOUNCEMENTS

NEW MEMBER STATUS.

There has been a rush of old members coming back to the club....must be due to the lovely newsletters being dished out. Welcome back to Kel Linehan, a past member, and GOTY in 86 & 88.

ROUND 3 RESULTS – THE DUNES 28 MAR 10

27 Players turned up 26 Members and 1 Guest

First: Rob Griek (41 Points)

Rob's AAGC Career History*:

Rob won the March comp last year, he must have his bio-rhythms in sync during March.

Rob's Trophy Cabinet:

 3×1^{st} , 6×2^{nd} ; 4×3^{rd} ; $1 \times NAGA$; $2 \times NTP$'s; $2 \times D$ 'n'C's; and $1 \times Longest$ Drives; career prize money totaling \$410.00.

* Historical records since 2001

Second: Steve Waite (40 Points); (38 Points); Third: Rick Waterman

John Leenarts (21 Points). (Countback from Paul Vanschaik, NAGA:

Oh, that' me.....HaHa)

Nearest to Pin 3th Hole: Steve Waite 13th Hole: Andrew Jordan

Drive 'n' Chip

11th Hole: Tony Sawyer

Longest Drive

5th Hole: Kel Linehan

Raffle: \$135.00 (Raffle Master – Andrew Jordan)

Eagles Nest Tally this Month: 8 (No Eagles in Round 3),

Last Eagle was by Graham 'Hitman' Harding in Jul 09 at Moonah Links, where he won 14 Golf Balls)

Fines: \$100.00 (Fines Master – Sir Alf)

Special 'WHAT THE' for the following:

- Laurie Walker was commenting on how nice 'The Dunes' kept their fairways and that it is such a smooth drive in the Carts. No Laurie, you're driving on the GREEN, Now Get Off.
- Joe Dos Santos hit his ball straight down the middle of the fairway, way past the longest drive marker. Whilst admiring his shot, Joe places his name on the Marker. Sorry Joe, that wasn't AAGC's marker, but some other clubs. Please pick up their prize at your convenience.
- Rob Griek had 12 shots in the bunker and still won??? Where is Mick Conroy's clicker.
- Ross, on the par 3, Tees up and hits his ball straight into his cart, off it ricochet's and is never seen again. Not to be discouraged, Ross Tees up another and whammo, straight into his cart again (*Picks up in disgust*).

ROUND 3 MATCHPLAY RESULTS

OK, a ¼ of the way through the AAGC 2010 Tour Card and there is a red hot dip for the trophy from a couple of the better players. Steve Waite is out to seek revenge for throwing the title away last year, with a massive % and he has shown no mercy to those poor unfortunate souls whom he has played. Rob Uwland, on the other hand, has been encouraged by his cousin to sneak around Steve's heals and steal the trophy from the 'Ice Man' at the very last moment.

Steve Waite	11	Def	Paul Vanschaik	2
Rob Uwland	8	Def	Graham Harding	5
Andrew Jordan	6	Def	Allan McLean	5
Rob Arnold	9	Def	John Franklin	4
Pat Edwards	8	Def	Tony Sawyer	6
Rick Waterman	12	Def	John Leenarts	2
Ian Mitchell	8	Def	Steve Williams	5

Mark Jordan	8	Def	Brendan Drew	5
Bob Mitchell	9	Def	Vince Digrazia	6
Laurie Walker	9	Def	Richie Lakey	4
Rob Griek	8	Def	Peter Menz	4
Craig Menas	7	Def	Ross Morfea	6
Joe dos Santos	12	Def	Alf Hodges	4

2010 MATCHPLAY LADDER

Name	P	W	D	For	Ag	%	Pts
Steve Waite	3	3		33	9	366.7%	24
Rob Uwland	3	3		25	15	166.7%	24
Joe dos Santos	3	2		27	14	192.9%	18
Ian Mitchell	2	2		19	8	237.5%	16
Laurie Walker	2	2		17	8	212.5%	16
Bob Mitchell (Sir)	2	2		21	10	210.0%	16
John Uwland	2	2		15	8	187.5%	16
Mick Conroy	2	2		18	11	163.6%	16
Andrew Jordan	2	2		15	11	136.4%	16
Tony Sawyer	3	1		16	22	72.7%	12
John Leenarts (Sir)	3	1		18	25	72.0%	12
Mark Jordan	3	1		17	26	65.4%	12
Allan McLean	2	1		17	11	154.5%	10
Patrick Edwards	2	1		14	13	107.7%	10
Rob Griek	2	1		14	14	100.0%	10
Ross Morfea	2	1		14	14	100.0%	10
Craig Menes	2	1		11	16	68.8%	10
Rick Waterman	1	1		12	2	600.0%	8
Rob Arnold	1	1		9	4	225.0%	8
Arthur Morihovitis	1	1		9	5	180.0%	8
Graham Harding	3			8	26	30.8%	6
Steve Williams	2			11	16	68.8%	4
Brendan Drew	2			11	17	64.7%	4
Vince Digrazia	2			11	21	52.4%	4
Paul Vanschaik	2			9	19	47.4%	4
Lou Drake	1			5	9	55.6%	2
Fred Hodges	1			4	8	50.0%	2
Peter Menz	1			4	8	50.0%	2
John Franklin	1			4	9	44.4%	2
Richie Lakey	1			4	9	44.4%	2
Alf Hodges (Sir)	1			4	12	33.3%	2
Shaun Williams	1			3	11	27.3%	2
Brent Proctor	1			1	14	7.1%	2

NEXT ROUND Round 4 - WATERFORD VALLEY 18 APR 10

<u>**Tee Off**</u>: 0800 hrs <u>**Cost**</u>: \$50.00 + BBQ

No Carts included and there is a BBQ.

BBQ News:

For those that have played at Waterford Valley before and stayed for the BBQ it has been a little 'rough' with the BBQ occurring in the car park.

Rob Arnold has a factory nearby and has offered the use of his facilities for the BBQ, which has been gratefully accepted by the club.

The BBQ is to be held at 13/5 Samantha Court, Knoxfield, 3180 [Melway map ref P73 C7]

Link Below.

Samantha crt Knoxfield - Google Maps (Rob Arnolds Factory)

Rob Griek has offered to provide the meat which is also appreciated.

Thanks Rob and Rob.

Current Champion

Reigning Waterford Valley Champion from 2009 is Graham 'Hitman' Harding who won with 42 points

Previous Winners:

2008: Gavin Sheane-Smith – 36 Pts

REGARDS Paul Vanschaik AAGC News Reporter.